Is it a joke, we ask ourselves

The life we live, it makes no sense

Are we being played?

And why it’s like we’re predestined to lose?

Stuck in a haze, unable to move.

The very best, we already give

But life’s a selfish to give us a bid

Oftentimes, we don’t get what we want and need

Even all that we had,

Are taken from us all at once.

Are we in a circle?

Started somewhere and ended up there again

Unable to go to the place we lust after

Like a body drowning despite fighting

The terrible waves of mistakes and failing.

Confused?

Yes, we were

Yes, we still are

Maybe tomorrow’s gonna be a huge mist too

Is it postponed, our breakthrough?

Will there be a time

When someone will explain

All our losses which despise respite?

Are they really worth it?

Are they?

Every waking moment we hope

That we finally understand

Our sole purpose in this oblate-spheroid world

Maybe we can forgive

Every pain which dampened our souls.

Every sleeping moment we pray

May the stars please align for us

Let the days ahead work for me

I want my moment…

My pedestal

One day, I’ll no longer be in a round haze

One day, I’ll comprehend all the wondering

One day, I am to set free and find myself

Going out of the circle and making my own shape

I hope I will, I hope we will.

P.S. This is the poem who gave me the 4th place in the Poetry Writing Contest- English, in the 9th CHEPC, a press conference for Tertiary Campus Journalists➡ Bagged Two Awards Even Under Tremendous Stress|CHEPC|Feature Writing|Poetry Writing|.

We were asked to write in a free verse, a poetry in which you’ll associate a shape to a certain emotion.

 

