This is my piece entitled HILING. I performed this in a spoken word poetry performance last March 31, 2017 in our #Tag2Youth variety show in Intro to Mass Communication. Nikko Artuz sung to the tune of Hiling by Mark Carpio before and after my performance. It was indeed memorable, well isn’t every ‘first’ is?

I stumbled in some words, and I forgot some lines HUHU. Still, I was able to pull it off through God’s grace. Before, I never thought that I can do such thing. I remember watching Juan Miguel Severo, a famous spoken word artist here in the Philippines. I admire him a lot. As I listened to him, I fell for the art, but I said to myself that I won’t be able to do that. For me, it’s like too much. Then, this happened. I feel like I am unstoppable now. Never thought that only one forced performance will unleash me into this art that I am swooning over ever since.

Thank you Mary Joy Bacolod for the opportunity. She’s the director of our variety show. I owe this to her for she arranged this part that showcased a budding talent. Also, Nikko Artuz will never be forgotten because he’s a part of this wonderful experience!

'Hiling' my first ever spoken word performance, March 2017 (6).jpg
(c) Dom Mangubat

HILING 

MV Sorima

Sabi ng mga nakatatanda,

huwag daw madaliin ang pag-ibig.

Sapagkat para itong pagtalon sa isang

karagatang may rumaragasang mga alon.

Ang pagsuong ay dapat tantyahin

nang ikaw ay huwag magkamali.

Kailangan mong huminga nang malalim

bago tumalon sa isang madilim na yungib na

wala kang kasiguraduhan kung ano ang ikinukubli.

Sabi ng mga nakatatanda,

huwag daw madaliin ang pag-ibig.

Nakinig ako sa kanila.

Ginugol ang bawat sandali na

mapalago ang aking sarili.

Hindi hinahanap ang pag-ibig,

sapagkat ito ang sayo’y huhuli.

Hanggang sa isang araw, nakita kita.

Bumuka ang langit.

Nasaksihan ko kung paanong nagkakulay ang mundo

na dati pala’y tanging puti at itim.

Ngayon alam kong handa na ako,

at ikaw ang pinipili ko.

Ikaw ang gusto ko.

Ang tayo ang gusto ko.

Sabay tayong bumulusok patungo sa mga

bagay na sabay nating tutuklasin.

Pagbigyan mo naman sana ang aking hiling.

Dahil sa maniwala ka man o sa hindi,

sasabog na ang aking dibdib.

Sapagkat labis kitang ninanais.

At sana…ako din ang iyong piliin. 

P.S. There’s a video of me performing this piece. Still waiting for it tho… Will be posted soon when I get it.

DSC_0276.jpg
Nikko Artuz (c) Dom Mangubat
