A FUN AND exciting adventure that truly captivates. You’ll feel like you’re with Jill Pole, Puddleglum and Eustace Scrubb in all the amazing places they got into. Unfortunately though, The Silver Chair also contains the sad goodbye to King Caspian’s character— the loved Prince during Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia.

The Silver Chair is the fourth book in The Chronicles of Narnia book series by the great C.S. Lewis, which has also been in the process of making its complete movie franchise. It is the fourth of all the seven books considering the order of publication, but it’s the sixth considering the chronological order of the whole story.

This is an information I obtained through the Narnia Fandom website regarding the orders of the books:


Order of Publication

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  2. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  4. The Silver Chair
  5. The Horse and His Boy
  6. The Magician’s Nephew
  7. The Last Battle


Chronological Order

  1. The Magician’s Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia
  5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle



This another installment in the famed series features the new lead character, Jill Pole— a girl who wants to escape the gloomy world inside the Experiment House. Together with Eustace Scrubb, who is the lead character in the preceding The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, they were given a task by Aslan the Lion to find the long-lost Prince of Narnia—Rilian. He’s the son of Caspian the Tenth, the Seafarer and Navigator. Rilian became missing for a very long time after her mother died in the woods.

It was once a very fine day when Rilian and his mother, the Queen of Narnia, set out to stroll in the forest. He departed from her when she got tired and requested to sleep for a while, so he set out with others to hunt. When he came back, he saw his Mother killed by a gruesome, green serpent which he failed to capture. Ever since, finding and slaughtering the vicious creature has become his life mission until one day he stopped. Every one wondered why and one found out that he’s distracted by a very lovely maiden dressed in the most elegant green gown— one with the loveliest face and voice. After going back to see her again, he did not come back anymore. Old King Caspian sent all of the bravest and most-skilled Narnian the kingdom has ever had to search for his son, but all efforts were in vain. Little do they know that he’s been a slave of the lovely maiden who was also the Green Serpent he’s been searching for. She’s the Lady of the Green Kirtle, Queen of the Underworld, or also the Green Witch. She casted a spell upon Prince Rilian to make him forget his real life and be her puppet, working with him in a plan to conquer Narnia. They’ve been digging underground for a passage up to the top where she told him that she’ll make him King. But one hour every day, he remembers everything so he’s tied to a magical silver chair to bind him from setting free. After the said hour, the enchantment blinds him again.

Aslan gave Jill and Eustace the four signs they needed in their adventure where the cute Marsh-Wiggle, Puddleglum joined and assisted them. First, Eustace must immediately greet the Narnian he knows as he set foot on the land again. If he does, they’ll have a good help. Unfortunately, Eustace didn’t because he didn’t recognize Caspian. The last time he saw him, he’s strong, young, still a bachelor, but now, he’s too old. The second sign is that they’ll have to go to the ruined city of the ancient giants. Third, they’ll find a writing on a stone in that ruined city, and they must follow its instructions. Fourth, they’ll know the lost Prince because he’s the first one whom they’ll meet in their travels that will ask them to do something in the name of Aslan himself.

I was very hooked on how they set foot on the Ruined City but did not notice it, in their stay in Harfang where they met the bad giants, how they fell to the Underworld, travelled through the Sunless Sea, down to the Green Witch’s lair, on the mouth of the Land of Bism where the gnomes live, and finally back to the top—exactly into the heart of Narnia.

The world that Lewis created through his wild imagination, empowered by his on point, perfect descriptions, is vividly magnificent and breathtaking. The book will make you want to experience the feel of the wind there, to see the flowers yourself, to hear the talking trees. Also, how Lewis narrated the story is witty and powerful. I love those times when he speaks directly to the readers in a playful tone.

I loved the book, and I always will. This book series is dear to me. It has shaped my childhood and the childhood of my siblings too. My Mama loves it too. She’s the one who introduced the movie The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe where our fangirling started. My Papa knows the movie franchise so well because we have watched it more than a hundred times! Yeah, really! Personally, I think that the only weak part of this book is the confrontation of Jill, Eustace, Puddleglum and Prince Rilian with the Green Witch. I just thought that it may be more frantic than it was to be more frightening and exciting, but all in all, this book is a-w-e-s-o-m-e!!!

I recommend The Silver Chair to everyone who reads this book review.


Have you already read it? If not, what are your thoughts about it? Let me hear in the comments section below.