20228694_485775551777139_4880808062325749360_n

 

One stormy day, I was sitting on a grey couch in a small room; hugging myself tightly because I stupidly forgot my jacket. At first, I can handle the coldness until the winds blew harder, and the rain poured even more drastically. I closed my eyes when my whole body was finally numb from head to feet. I remained like that for a few more minutes; waiting for the bad weather to ease, but it won’t. And when I opened my eyes again, I saw him with his left arm outstretched to me. He’s handing a white fabric. Involuntarily (and I don’t know why), I grabbed it immediately. I saw him fixing the folds on his white polo shirt, and at the same time, I saw that what he gave me was his white hoodie.

Every other stormy or rainy day after that, I can’t help but get outside for a bit to see the weather. I will try to close my eyes again, hoping that when I opened them, he’s going to be right there just the same. But every other stormy or rainy day after that, I fail.

He was a good friend in a way that he makes me smile or laugh (although he didn’t know because I was good in hiding it). It’s been a long time now since I last saw him. Even from the very start, I know that someday we’ll be separated, and that’s inevitable. But still, on our last day, I wasn’t prepared.

When you come to think of it, there are really people or things that we learn to love, but are ought to cross our paths just for once and be gone for good. Accepting that is as painful and cold as walking under stormy, rainy skies. But then, all things will come to an end. You’ll find the sun shining again, and you look back to see that person you loved. You’ll realize he’s too far away now, but the love is still there.

It’s been many years now, but the white hoodie was still kept somewhere in my closet. When I gave it back to him before, he insisted that I hold on to it instead. And although I’m not holding on to it anymore the way I did in the past, there are still days when I will wear it. Like its previous owner, I’m not attached to it anymore. But also like its previous owner, it has got a special place in my heart already.

Now, when it is stormy or raining, I don’t close my eyes anymore or wait for someone to appear out of the blue (silly). But I still remember that moment. I never forget.

Words by MV Sorima 
Photos from k15h1 tumblruser & Pinterest

